Skip to main content
The Dangers of Smoking in Bed [BOOK] [Hardback]
The Dangers of Smoking in Bed [BOOK] [Hardback]
  • The Dangers of Smoking in Bed [BOOK] [Hardback]

The Dangers of Smoking in Bed [BOOK] [Hardback]

Format:
BOOK
Genre:
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Media Format:
Hardback
MSRP: £20.99
Price: £15.09
(You save £5.90 )
Free Shipping
Description
SHORTLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL BOOKER PRIZE "The lauded Argentine author of What We Lost in the Fire returns with enthralling stories conjured from literary sorcery" (O: The Oprah Magazine), in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges.

Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of the macabre. Populated by unruly teenagers, crooked witches, homeless ghosts, and hungry women, they walk the uneasy line between urban realism and horror. The stories in her new collection are as terrifying as they are socially conscious, and press into being the unspoken-fetish, illness, the female body, the darkness of human history-with bracing urgency. A woman is sexually obsessed with the human heart; a lost, rotting baby crawls out of a backyard and into a bedroom; a pair of teenage girls can't let go of their idol; an entire neighborhood is cursed to death when it fails to respond correctly to a moral dilemma.
 
Written against the backdrop of contemporary Argentina, and with a resounding tenderness toward those in pain, in fear, and in limbo, The Dangers of Smoking in Bed is Mariana Enriquez at her most sophisticated, and most chilling.

Author Bio:

Mariana Enriquez is a writer and editor based in Buenos Aires, where she contributes to a number of newspapers and literary journals, both fiction and nonfiction.
SHORTLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL BOOKER PRIZE • "The lauded Argentine author of What We Lost in the Fire returns with enthralling stories conjured from literary sorcery" (O: The Oprah Magazine), in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges.KIRKUS PRIZE FINALIST • "Mariana Enriquez's stories are smoky, carnal, and dazzling."—Lauren Groff, author of Matrix and Fates and FuriesMariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of the macabre. Populated by unruly teenagers, crooked witches, homeless ghosts, and hungry women, they walk the uneasy line between urban realism and horror. The stories in her new collection are as terrifying as they are socially conscious, and press into being the unspoken—fetish, illness, the female body, the darkness of human history—with bracing urgency. A woman is sexually obsessed with the human heart; a lost, rot

Review:

----"After you've lived in Mariana Enriquez'-s marvelous brain for the time it takes to read The Dangers of Smoking in Bed, the known world feels ratcheted a few degrees off-center. Enriquez's stories are smoky, carnal, and dazzling."-Lauren Groff, author of Fates and Furies
 
"Rotting little ghosts, heartbeat fetishes, curses and witches and meat: Each of these stories is a luscious, bewitching nightmare. Each one builds up a steady, thrilling dread-until the final lines, when the true horror is revealed. I adore this book."-Kirsty Logan, author of The Gracekeepers
 
"I loved these twisted tales, these lustful whispers in the dark. There is some serious power in this writing."-Daisy Johnson, author of Sisters
Author
Mariana Enriquez
Format
BOOK
Country
New York (State)
Genre
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Publication Date
12 Jan 2021
ISBN
0593134079
Languange
English
Subtitle
Stories
Pre-order
No
Media Format
Hardback
Show more

We can ship to virtually any address in the world. Note that there are restrictions on some products, and some products cannot be shipped to international destinations.

 

When you place an order, we will estimate shipping and delivery dates for you based on the availability of your items and the shipping options you choose. Depending on the shipping provider you choose, shipping date estimates may appear on the shipping quotes page.

 

Please also note that the shipping rates for many items we sell are weight-based. The weight of any such item can be found on its detail page. To reflect the policies of the shipping companies we use, all weights will be rounded up to the next full pound.

You may return most new, unopened items within 30 days of delivery for a full refund. We'll also pay the return shipping costs if the return is a result of our error (you received an incorrect or defective item, etc.).

You should expect to receive your refund within four weeks of giving your package to the return shipper, however, in many cases you will receive a refund more quickly. This time period includes the transit time for us to receive your return from the shipper (5 to 10 business days), the time it takes us to process your return once we receive it (3 to 5 business days), and the time it takes your bank to process our refund request (5 to 10 business days).

If you need to return an item, please Contact Us with your order number and details about the product you would like to return. We will respond quickly with instructions for how to return items from your order.

Rabans Lane Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, HP19 8TS