Skip to main content
One last time (Paperback original) [BOOK] [Paperback]
One last time (Paperback original) [BOOK] [Paperback]
  • One last time (Paperback original) [BOOK] [Paperback]

One last time (Paperback original) [BOOK] [Paperback]

Format:
BOOK
Genre:
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Media Format:
Paperback
Price: £10.69
Free Shipping
Description
Anne's diagnosis of terminal cancer shines a spotlight onto fractured relationships with her daughter and granddaughter, with surprising, heartwarming results. A moving, elegant and warmly funny novel by the Norwegian Anne Tyler.
 
'Helga Flatland writes with such astuteness … Her portrayal of a fractured family trying to cope through emotional personal circumstances was perfect. I devoured this in two sittings and was overwhelmed with feelings for the characters' Nina Pottell, Prima
 
'Sometimes you simply don't have words to express the beauty and experience of a book - this is one of them' Louise Beech

_______________

Anne's life is rushing to an unexpected and untimely end. But her diagnosis of terminal cancer isn't just a shock for her - and for her daughter Sigrid and granddaughter Mia - it shines a spotlight onto their fractured and uncomfortable relationships.

On a spur-of-the moment trip to France the three generations of women reveal harboured secrets, long-held frustrations and suppressed desires, and learn humbling and heart-warming lessons about how life should be lived when death is so close.

With all of Helga Flatland's trademark humour, razor-sharp wit and deep empathy, One Last Time examines the great dramas that can be found in ordinary lives, asks the questions that matter to us all - and ultimately celebrates the resilience of the human spirit, in an exquisite, enchantingly beautiful novel that urges us to treasure and rethink … everything.


For fans of Elena Ferrante, Maggie O'Farrell, Mike Gayle, Joanna Cannon, Sally Rooney and Carol Shields.

_______________

'The most beautiful, elegant writing I've read in a long time. If you love Anne Tyler, you will ADORE this' Joanna Cannon

'Flatland is hailed as "the Norwegian Anne Tyler", but, for me, she writes like Flatland, which is more than good enough' Saga
 
'A poignant and beautifully written story ... intimate, evocative and moving' Kristin Gleeson
 
'Helga Flatland possesses a pen made from fluent wisdom, subtle humour and elegance' Carol Lovekin

'Absolutely loved its quiet, insightful generosity' Claire King
 
'So perceptive and clever' Rónán Hession

'A thoughtful and reflective novel about parents, siblings and the complex - and often challenging - ties that bind them' Hannah Beckerman,Observer

'This is a super exploration of families that I'd urge you to read for the subtle prose, with well defined characters and a strong storyline' Sheila O'Reilly

'Love the sophistication, directness and tenderness of this book' Claire Dyer

'The most clear-eyed, honest, yet sympathetic examination of relationships that I have ever read' Sara Taylor

'The author has been dubbed the Norwegian Anne Tyler and for good reason … If you love books about dysfunctional families, you'll love this' Good Housekeeping

'In quiet prose, Helga Flatland writes with elegance and subtle humour to produce a shrewd and insightful examination of the psychology of family and of loss' Daily Express

Author Bio:

Helga Flatland is already one of Norway's most awarded and widely read authors. Born in Telemark, Norway, in 1984, she made her literary debut in 2010 with the novel Stay If You Can, Leave If You Must, for which she was awarded the Tarjei Vesaas' First Book Prize. She has written four novels and a children's book and has won several other literary awards. Her fifth novel, A Modern Family (her first English translation), was published to wide acclaim in Norway in August 2017, and was a number-one bestseller. The rights have subsequently been sold across Europe and the novel has sold more than 100,000 copies. End of Life was published in 2020 and is currently topping bestseller lists in Norway.
Anne's diagnosis of terminal cancer shines a spotlight onto fractured relationships with her daughter and granddaughter, with surprising, heartwarming results.
Author
Helga Flatland
Format
BOOK
Country
United Kingdom
Genre
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Publication Date
24 Jun 2021
ISBN
1913193691
Dewey Code
839.8238 (edition:23)
Languange
English
Edition
Paperback original
Pre-order
No
Media Format
Paperback
Show more

We can ship to virtually any address in the world. Note that there are restrictions on some products, and some products cannot be shipped to international destinations.

 

When you place an order, we will estimate shipping and delivery dates for you based on the availability of your items and the shipping options you choose. Depending on the shipping provider you choose, shipping date estimates may appear on the shipping quotes page.

 

Please also note that the shipping rates for many items we sell are weight-based. The weight of any such item can be found on its detail page. To reflect the policies of the shipping companies we use, all weights will be rounded up to the next full pound.

You may return most new, unopened items within 30 days of delivery for a full refund. We'll also pay the return shipping costs if the return is a result of our error (you received an incorrect or defective item, etc.).

You should expect to receive your refund within four weeks of giving your package to the return shipper, however, in many cases you will receive a refund more quickly. This time period includes the transit time for us to receive your return from the shipper (5 to 10 business days), the time it takes us to process your return once we receive it (3 to 5 business days), and the time it takes your bank to process our refund request (5 to 10 business days).

If you need to return an item, please Contact Us with your order number and details about the product you would like to return. We will respond quickly with instructions for how to return items from your order.

Rabans Lane Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, HP19 8TS