Skip to main content
Monkey!: Episodes 1-13 (1979) (Box Set) [DVD] [DVD / Box Set]
Monkey!: Episodes 1-13 (1979) (Box Set) [DVD] [DVD / Box Set]
  • Monkey!: Episodes 1-13 (1979) (Box Set) [DVD] [DVD / Box Set]

Monkey!: Episodes 1-13 (1979) (Box Set) [DVD] [DVD / Box Set]

UK Certification:
Region 2
Spirit Entertainment
Television|Space opera|Fantasy|Myth & legend told as fiction
Number of Items:
4 disc(s)
Media Format:
MSRP: £39.99
Price: £21.59
(You save £18.40 )
Free Shipping
The first thirteen episodes of the cult Seventies action series. In 'Monkey Goes Wild About Heaven', King Monkey (Masaaki Sakai) disgraces himself after being summoned to Heaven. He and two officials get into an argument and end up being sent back to Earth as a punishment - Monkey is imprisoned under a mountain, while the others are transformed into a pig monster, Pigsy (Toshiyuki Nishida), and a water monster, Sandy (Shiro Kishibe). 'Monkey Turns Nursemaid' sees Monkey set free in order to help holy man Tripitaka (Masako Natsume) on his quest to save the world. In 'The Great Journey Begins', Monkey protects Tripitaka against both Pigsy and Sandy, both of whom end up joining them on their journey. In 'Monkey Swallows the Universe', Monkey, Pigsy and Sandy must protect Tripitaka from the demonic Golden Horn and his wife. 'The Power of Youth' sees Tripitaka kidnapped by the immature King of Youth. In 'Even Monsters Can Be People', Tripitaka punishes Monkey by sending him away when he thinks his protector has slain an innocent girl and her parents. However, Monkey's victims were in fact demons disguised as humans! 'The Beginning of Wisdom' sees Pigsy offering to sacrifice himself to save a village from a terrible drought. In 'Pigsy Woos a Widow', the porcine Casanova turns the charm on a pretty widow, who, in turn, is infatuated by Tripitaka. In 'What Monkey Calls the Dog-Woman', Monkey discovers the true intentions of a group of bandits, whilst Tripitaka, Pigsy and Sandy are terrorised by a dog-woman innkeeper. In 'Pigsy's in the Well', Tripitaka and his three disciples set out to prove that the man ruling as king of Cickrow is in fact a murderous magician imposter. 'The Difference Between Night and Day' sees Monkey rendered powerless when he falls in love with a pretty young girl, while Pigsy defects to join the evil creatures of the night. In 'Pearls Before Swine', Monkey and company promise to help the inhabitants of a land ruled over by three evil immortals. And finally, in 'The Minx and the Slug', Pigsy disguises himself as the slug monster husband of the beautiful Hai-Min.
Masaaki Sakai
UK Certification
Original Language
Based On
The story by Wu Ch'eng-en
Region 2
Spirit Entertainment
Television|Space opera|Fantasy|Myth & legend told as fiction
Publication Date
29 Mar 2004
Catalogue No
Box Set
Yûsuke Watanabe
Tsuneo Hayakawa
Yoji Katori
Ken Kumagaya
Kazuo Morikawa
Tadahiro Nagatomi
Muneo Yamada
Mickie Yoshino
Year of Release
Number of Items
4 disc(s)
Media Format
Show more
Director: Yûsuke Watanabe
Producers: Tsuneo Hayakawa, Yoji Katori, Ken Kumagaya, Kazuo Morikawa, Tadahiro Nagatomi, Muneo Yamada
Music: Mickie Yoshino
Actors: Masaaki Sakai, Toshiyuki Nishida, Shiro Kishibe, Masako Natsume, Mieko Takamine

We can ship to virtually any address in the world. Note that there are restrictions on some products, and some products cannot be shipped to international destinations.


When you place an order, we will estimate shipping and delivery dates for you based on the availability of your items and the shipping options you choose. Depending on the shipping provider you choose, shipping date estimates may appear on the shipping quotes page.


Please also note that the shipping rates for many items we sell are weight-based. The weight of any such item can be found on its detail page. To reflect the policies of the shipping companies we use, all weights will be rounded up to the next full pound.

You may return most new, unopened items within 30 days of delivery for a full refund. We'll also pay the return shipping costs if the return is a result of our error (you received an incorrect or defective item, etc.).

You should expect to receive your refund within four weeks of giving your package to the return shipper, however, in many cases you will receive a refund more quickly. This time period includes the transit time for us to receive your return from the shipper (5 to 10 business days), the time it takes us to process your return once we receive it (3 to 5 business days), and the time it takes your bank to process our refund request (5 to 10 business days).

If you need to return an item, please Contact Us with your order number and details about the product you would like to return. We will respond quickly with instructions for how to return items from your order.

Other titles with Masaaki Sakai: View All

Other titles with Yûsuke Watanabe: View All

Rabans Lane Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, HP19 8TS