Skip to main content
Book of numbers (1st paperback ed) [BOOK] [Paperback]
Book of numbers (1st paperback ed) [BOOK] [Paperback]
  • Book of numbers (1st paperback ed) [BOOK] [Paperback]

Book of numbers (1st paperback ed) [BOOK] [Paperback]

Format:
BOOK
Genre:
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Media Format:
Paperback
MSRP: £10.99
Price: £9.09
(You save £1.90 )
Free Shipping
Description

'Dazzling and engrossing' Colm Tóibìn, Guardian
A Granta Best Young American Author

Book of Numbers is a novel about two men of the same age and with the same name: Joshua Cohen.

The first Joshua is a writer whose keenly anticipated debut had the bad luck to be published on September 11, 2001.

The other Joshua is the enigmatic billionaire Founder and CEO of the world's most profitable tech company.

Autobiography, family memoir, phoned-in ghostwriting, international thriller, sex comedy - Book of Numbers brings to life the full range of modern experience in the course of its epic journey.

Author Bio:

Joshua Cohen was born in 1980 in New Jersey. He is the book critic for Harper's Magazine and the author of several books, including Four New Messages and Attention! A (Short) History. His non-fiction has appeared in the New York Times, the New York Times Book Review, Bookforum, The Forward, The Believer, the New York Observer, the London Review of Books, n+1 and elsewhere. He is a Granta Best Young American author.
For readers of David Foster Wallace, Don DeLillo, and George Saunders, Joshua Cohen's breakout novel, 'The Book of Numbers', pulls back the veils of the Internet in a prodigious search for the meaning of life in the Digital Age.

Review:

Joshua Cohen's novel Book of Numbers reads as if Philip Roth's work were fired into David Foster Wallace's inside the Hadron particle collider…Book of Numbers is more impressive than all but a few novels published so far this decade. Mr. Cohen, all of 34, emerges as a major American writer
The New York Times - Dwight Garner

Joshua Cohen's novel Book of Numbers reads as if Philip Roth's work were fired into David Foster Wallace's inside the Hadron particle collider…Book of Numbers is more impressive than all but a few novels published so far this decade. Mr. Cohen, all of 34, emerges as a major American writer
The New York Times - Dwight Garner

A hugely ambitious novel set in the high-tech world of now. It is a verbal high-wire act, daring in its tones and textures: clever, poetic, fast-moving, deeply playful, filled with jokes, savvy about machines, wise about people, dazzling and engrossing
Guardian - Colm Toibin

Intelligent, lyrical, prosaic, theoretical, pragmatic, funny, serious. [Cohen's] best prose does everything at once
James Wood

Book of Numbers is a lot of things - a disquisition on and aping of the Internet, a dissection of friendship and romance in the Digital Age, and a doppelgänger tale - but for me it's most poignant as an elegy for the written word, and as a rebuke to its decline
Joshua Ferris
Author
Joshua Cohen
Format
BOOK
Country
United Kingdom
Genre
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Publication Date
02 Jun 2016
ISBN
0099597381
Dewey Code
813.6 (edition:23)
Languange
English
Subtitle
a novel
Edition
1st paperback ed
Pre-order
No
Media Format
Paperback
Show more

We can ship to virtually any address in the world. Note that there are restrictions on some products, and some products cannot be shipped to international destinations.

 

When you place an order, we will estimate shipping and delivery dates for you based on the availability of your items and the shipping options you choose. Depending on the shipping provider you choose, shipping date estimates may appear on the shipping quotes page.

 

Please also note that the shipping rates for many items we sell are weight-based. The weight of any such item can be found on its detail page. To reflect the policies of the shipping companies we use, all weights will be rounded up to the next full pound.

You may return most new, unopened items within 30 days of delivery for a full refund. We'll also pay the return shipping costs if the return is a result of our error (you received an incorrect or defective item, etc.).

You should expect to receive your refund within four weeks of giving your package to the return shipper, however, in many cases you will receive a refund more quickly. This time period includes the transit time for us to receive your return from the shipper (5 to 10 business days), the time it takes us to process your return once we receive it (3 to 5 business days), and the time it takes your bank to process our refund request (5 to 10 business days).

If you need to return an item, please Contact Us with your order number and details about the product you would like to return. We will respond quickly with instructions for how to return items from your order.

Rabans Lane Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, HP19 8TS